Comparing Lancashire and Yorkshire

Lancashire and Yorkshire (divided into North Yorkshire, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire and East Riding of Yorkshire) are counties in the north of England. They are bordered by the Pennines - a low-rising mountain rage.

A lot of people in them worked in the coal mining and textile manufacturing industries in the past. The two counties are friendly rivals and they often compete against each other in sports such as cricket and rugby league.

The table below compares the two counties:

Lancashire Yorkshire
red rose
Lancashire rose
white rose
Yorkshire rose
County Day
27th November
1st August

Major towns/cities
  • Blackpool
  • Preston
  • Chorley
  • Blackburn
  • Morecambe
  • Lancaster
  • York
  • Leeds
  • Halifax
  • Scarborough
  • Whitby
  • Sheffield

Natural features
  • Forest of Bowland
  • Morecambe Bay mudflats
  • Flyde coastal path
  • North York Moors
  • Malham Cove
  • Flamborough Head
Rivers drain west into the Irish Sea include the: Ribble, Wyre and Lune.
Rivers drain east into the North Sea and include the: Tees, Ouse and Trent.

Major industries
  • nuclear power
  • truck manufacture
  • beer brewing
  • gas pipleline terminals
  • banking
  • supermarkets

Popular attractions
  • Blackpool Eye
  • Lancaster Castle
  • East Lancashire Railway
  • British Commercial Vehicle Museum, Leyland
  • Titus Salt's Mill in Saltaire, Bradford
  • Brontë Parsonage Museum, Haworth
  • Royal Armouries Museum, Leeds
  • Bolton Abbey
  • Jorvik Viking Centre
  • Skipton Castle

Transport links
  • west coast main line railway
  • M6 motorway
  • Blackpool International Airport
  • Heysham Port - ferries to Ireland and the Isle of Man
  • east coast main line railway
  • M1 motorway
  • Leeds Bradford Airport
  • Hull - ferries to the Netherlands and Belgium

Traditional food
  • Chorley cake
  • black pudding
  • rag pudding
  • black peas
  • Yorkshire pudding
  • Wensleydale cheese
  • liquorice
  • chocolate