The Kingdom of Spain is the third largest country in Europe and covers a major part of the Iberian peninsula. The Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea and the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean are also part of Spain.  

Five important rivers run through Spain - the Duero, Ebro, Guadiana, Guadalquivir and Tago. The Pyrenees Mountains divide divide Spain from France in the north.

Pyrenees Catalonia

Spanish summers are hot and dry, but sometimes there are sudden storms. The temperature reaches about 30°C in July and August. The winters are cold and wet in northern and central Spain. In the south, they are mild.

The currency of Spain is the Euro. One Euro is divided into 100 cents.

The flag of Spain has three horizontal stripes: red, yellow and red, the yellow stripe being twice the size of each red stripe. It often contains the coat of arms of Spain too.

Spain flag 300

The population of Spain is about 47 million people and they mostly speak Spanish, with the rest speaking: Catalan, Galician or Basque.

The king and the elected president share the power in Spain. Although there is a national parliament, the country is made up of 17 autonomous regions which each manage their own: schools, hospitals and public services.

A violent campaign by Eta to try and give the Basque region full independence from Spain only ended in 2012 when they decided to diband after killing nearly 850 people.