Climate Types‎ > ‎

Equatorial Regions

Equatorial regions are located in a band around the Equator and cover about 6% of the Earth's surface. They are often in lowland areas and have a climate that is hot and wet all year round. Tropical rainforests grow in the equatorial regions.

Amazonian rainforest 2
  • The Amazon Rainforest covers an area of 5,500,000km2 in: Brazil, Peru, Columbia, Venezuela, Equador, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana.
  • The Atlantic Forest covers an area of 1,315,460km2 in: Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina.
  • The Madagascar lowland forests cover an area of 112,600km2 on the island of Madagascar.
  • The Ituri Rainforest covers an area of 63,000km2 in the Democratic Republic of Congo.
  • The Hawaiian tropical rainforests cover an area of 6,700km2 in the Hawaiian Islands.
  • The Daintree Rainforest covers an area of 2,600km2 in Australia.
  • The Harpan Rainforest covers an area of 985km2 in Sumatra.

Some of the longest rivers in the world flow through tropical rainforests like the: Amazon, Mekong, Orinoco and Congo because they receive so much rainfall.

Amazon River